REBNY announces honorees for NYC real estate’s biggest night

The Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY) has announced who will be presented with top honors fo

The Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY) has announced who will be presented with top honors for their professional success and contributions to the real estate industry at REBNY’s 121st Annual Banquet to be held on Thursday, January 19, 2017 at the New York Hilton in Midtown Manhattan.

Carl Weisbrod, Chairman of the New York City Planning Commission and Director of the New York City Department of City Planning, will receive The John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award which will be presented for the first time at REBNY’s 121st Annual Banquet.

This award recognizes a New Yorker who has displayed exceptional accomplishments and service in the public’s interest.  It is named for the late John E. Zuccotti who served as Chairperson of REBNY from 2004 to 2006, and was a longstanding member of its Executive Committee. Zuccotti served as First Deputy Mayor and Chair of New York City’s Department of City Planning through some of the City’s most challenging times, and as chairman of global operations for Brookfield Asset Management.

“Throughout his career, in both the private and public sectors, Carl Weisbrod has dedicated himself to improving the lives of all New Yorkers, which makes him an ideal recipient of the inaugural John E. Zuccotti Public Service Award.  He truly captures the spirit of civic leadership personified by our late, great former Chairman John Zuccotti, a legend of our industry,” said Rob Speyer, REBNY Chairman. “Our 121st annual banquet will be a momentous occasion to celebrate the achievements of all our honorees and the entire real estate community.”

“Each of the award winners have made extensive contributions to our industry through their professional accomplishments, leadership, and dedicated service,” said John H. Banks, III, REBNY President. “Their efforts represent the very best of New York leaders who are shaping and transforming our vibrant city.”

In addition to Weisbrod, the award winners who will be recognized at the largest annual real estate networking, black-tie event in New York City are:

MaryAnne Gilmartin, President and Chief Executive Officer of Forest City Ratner Companies, the New York office of Forest City Realty Trust, Inc., will receive The Bernard H. Mendik Lifetime Leadership in Real Estate Award for her exceptional accomplishments in the profession, leadership, and service to the real estate industry over the course of her distinguished career.

Marc Holliday, Chief Executive Officer of SL Green Realty Corp., will receive The Harry B. Helmsley Distinguished New Yorker Award, which is presented to an industry member for their invaluable contributions to New York’s civic welfare and the real estate community.

Jed Walentas, Chief Executive Officer of Two Trees Management Co., will receive The Kenneth R. Gerrety Humanitarian Award, which recognizes a REBNY member’s meritorious service to the community.

Peter Riguardi, President of the New York Tri-State Region for Jones Lang LaSalle, will receive The Louis Smadbeck Broker Recognition Award, which celebrates a commercial broker with exceptional personal and professional integrity, leadership, prominence in the brokerage community, and service to REBNY’s committees.

Bill Dacunto, Executive Vice President of Operations for Silverstein Properties, Inc., will receive The George M. Brooker Management Executive of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals of superior accomplishment in property management based on outstanding professionalism, civic achievement, and contributions to the real estate industry.

Lindsay Ornstein, Partner at Transwestern, will receive the Young Real Estate Woman of the Year Award. This award is selected by the Young Men’s/Women’s Real Estate Association of New York and presented to a member who exemplifies strong integrity, professionalism, and personal ethics.

REBNY announces honorees for NYC real estate’s biggest night : Real Estate Weekly